Day 2 of 37: Reading

img_1796

The Recording Angel outside the Schermerhorn Symphony Center, Nashville TN.  Sculpted as one of the nine muses who inspire humans to create works of art.  Artist: Audrey Flack, 2006.

It feels like I was always a reader.  Of course, I wasn’t.  Like many my age, I learned to read in First Grade of elementary school.  Before I read, I made up stories for my dolls, either paper or plastic, to enact.  “Let’s Make Believe that…” was the beginning if I were interacting with another.  Playing school with my older sister wasn’t really playing.  I was always the student; she was always the teacher.  And I was always in trouble.  When I finally went to school, I was only in trouble once.  The class clown in second grade told me to pull his chair away from the desk.  Then he pretended to fall to the floor. I was surprised.  Everyone laughed.  But The Teacher.  She would not listen to my explanation, and the the clown just grinned like a frog who had just swallowed the fattest fly.

After I learned to read, I found stories to escape into.  I became one with the story.  Once, during reading time at school, I could hear kids out on the playground and wondered why the principal had let them out in the bitter cold.  The boy in my book was lost in a snowstorm but the reality outside the classroom was warm sunshine.

In the summer I would walk to the public library for a new stack of books every two weeks.  I am surprised that my over-protective mother let me walk alone that far.  I suspect it was almost a mile.  I imagined that my arms were stretched out from the load of books but I continued to check out the maximum number.  After elementary school, I had a baby sister to enjoy, so reading was limited.  In high school, I worked one class period a day in the Library.  Oh, how I love the organization and rigor of a trained librarian.  And she introduced me to the finest stories.

Recently, I found an old jewelry box with my old treasures inside.  Along with a few pieces of costume jewelry were my library cards from all the cities we lived in when Mike was in the Navy.

“Reading without reflection is like eating without digestion.” – Edmund Burke

Leave a comment