Day 9 or 37: What is Real?

north-wall-closet-1-in-place

Both walls and the beadboard floor are securely in place in Mike’s closet, the one next to north wall, a.k.a. the red wall.  Now it just lacks the back wall, shelf pins and shelves and, of course, doors.  Putting doors on will be really exciting for me.  I love the hardware and the design for the plywood doors.  I think I won’t need to start getting excited until February.  If I have to wait that long, I may have to replace the door hardware with Hearts. 

“Our task is to say a holy yes to the real things of our life.” – Natalie Goldberg

If that is true, then our task is to discover and uncover what are the Real Things of our particular life.  We do not have to figure out what are anyone else’s Real Things or what are the Real Things in general.  But OUR Real Things.

Respect.  That’s high on my Real Things.  For me, it is higher than Love.  It is the Real Stuff of interacting with people, nature, and life.

Hope.  It is a Real Thing for me.  I must have at least a small silver thread of hope.  To catch the wind.  To unravel the chaos and stitch up the tears.  To string the lights of my life into shiny new day.  To wind around the moon and launch my aspirations.

Leave a comment